The Becoming: The Dragon Heart Legacy, Book 2 (The Dragon Heart Legacy, 2) - book cover
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Published : 23 Nov 2021
  • Pages : 448
  • ISBN-10 : 125027270X
  • ISBN-13 : 9781250272706
  • Language : English

The Becoming: The Dragon Heart Legacy, Book 2 (The Dragon Heart Legacy, 2)

A new epic of love and war among gods and humans, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Awakening.

The world of magick and the world of man have long been estranged from one another. But some can walk between the two―including Breen Siobhan Kelly. She has just returned to Talamh, with her friend, Marco, who's dazzled and disoriented by this realm―a place filled with dragons and faeries and mermaids (but no WiFi, to his chagrin). In Talamh, Breen is not the ordinary young schoolteacher he knew her as. Here she is learning to embrace the powers of her true identity. Marco is welcomed kindly by her people―and by Keegan, leader of the Fey. Keegan has trained Breen as a warrior, and his yearning for her has grown along with his admiration of her strength and skills.

But one member of Breen's bloodline is not there to embrace her. Her grandfather, the outcast god Odran, plots to destroy Talamh―and now all must unite to defeat his dark forces. There will be losses and sorrows, betrayal and bloodshed. But through it, Breen Siobhan Kelly will take the next step on the journey to becoming all that she was born to be.

Editorial Reviews

"Roberts's skills with building suspense and crafting stirring relationships truly shine. Readers will eagerly await the final installment." ―Publishers Weekly

Readers Top Reviews

The Becoming by Nora Roberts is the 2nd book in her The Dragon Hearts Legacy series. I loved the first book (The Awakening) in this series, and could not wait to read The Becoming. Needless to say, I also loved this book, which is the norm as Nora always creates such wonderful trilogies. Breen Siobhan Kelly, our heroine, returns to Talamh, where she was needed and is destined to be, especially loving the beautiful incredible land and family/friends she knew when she was a young child, only to be taken away by her mother. She knows she needs to train more, as well as learn how to use her magic, and stand up to fight the evil god, Odran and save Talamh and the Fey. Breen didn’t plan on her friend, Marco jumping into the portal with her, but everyone in Talamh welcomes him; even though he is dazzled by the magical place filled with filled with magic, fairies, witches, dragons, elves and weres. Breen is happy to return to her family and friends, and it was great to see them all again; Keegan, Nan, Bollocks, Morena, Harken, Aisling, and I loved Tarryn (Keegan’s Mother). The slow build romance between Breen and Keegan is very promising, but both are determined to stay focus on her training to be ready to face the challenge of the dark forces facing them. Keegan pushes Breen to the max in learning to fight as a warrior, but it is Nan (her grandmother) who teaches her how to build her skills magically; with each passing day, as well as separate threats against her, Breen’s powers grow. What follows is exciting, action filled adventure that kept my attention throughout, unable to put the book down. I loved watching Breen learn how to use her enhanced magical powers, as well as learn more from Tarryn; not to mention Keegan pushing her to the max. Breen was such a great heroine, stepping in a few times using her escalated powers to save the day, especially standing up to the evil villain (Odran). I also loved how Breen continues to use her private time writing children’s books centering on Bollocks, as well as doing an adult novel. Of course, I loved loved Bollocks, who was also one of my favorites. The Becoming was another fantastic story, so very well done by Nora Roberts. I love the world of Talamah, with so many wonderful secondary characters, and a fantastic heroine. I will not give spoilers, as you need to read this book from start to finish, but if you have not read The Awakening, then please start there. I loved everything about this book, as I devoured it from start to finish, and look forward to the next book.
Erica L Toole
3.5 stars rounding up to 4 stars I received an ARC of this novel via NetGalley and St. Martin's Press in exchange for an honest review. As Promised, Breen returns to Talamh to embrace her powers, fulfil her destiny, and help Keegan save the Fey. Breen is unexpectedly joined by her friend Marco. Although shocked by the revelation of Talamh and its people Marco pledges his aid in the pending battle. As Odran continues to gain power, his efforts to obtain Breen's power and destroy Talamh become more difficult for Keegan and Breen to stop. War may be inevitable but Breen is determined to become what she was born to be. The Becoming is the exciting second novel in the Dragon Heart Legacy series. The novel picks up where the first novel left off with Keegan bringing Breen and an unexpected traveler, Marco, through a portal to Talamh. Marco is left a bit stunned by the revelation of another world, the Fey, and Breen’s true identity but he quickly steps up to Breen’s aid. We also get some new shocking twists in the battle of good vs evil, meet some new love interests, advance in some not so new love interests, and enjoy some preemptive battles along the way. Breen and Kegan continue to strategize battle plans while gaining support and troops from other Fey. I felt the novel was a really good transition from Breen's awakening to her becoming as they prepare for the battle against Odran and his dark forces. The romantic plots are a bit thin in this novel with everyone trying to focus on battle rather than love so the development of those relationships feels a bit hollow. Unlike the "Chronicles of the One" I don't LOVE or relate to the characters in this series as much. I was hoping my feelings towards Breen and Marco would change as they developed through the series...but sadly they didn't. I do enjoy several of the other characters and the plot is well developed and intriguing. I think we are in for an epic battle in the final novel so I look forward to an exciting finale.
pw reader
The Becoming is the second book in The Dragon Heart Legacy by Nora Roberts. This second book begins right where the first book leaves off. For that reason I would recommend that the books be read in order. Which is an investment with the price point of these books. I will say I have read Nora Roberts for many years starting with her romance books. Roberts’ books are always well-written, never boring no matter the subject or genre. The first book brought all the fantasy world building clearly in the mind. It also brought characters that I loved and one or two I despised. This continued the story with right more drama. As long as the story focused on the good versus evil fight, building up to the final showdown to come in book three this was a 5+ star novel. However, when the focused switched to the personal dialogue between some characters, meaning the stereotypes, the slang and profanity it took away from the story for me. Perhaps in Marco’s case to show him as urban and cool. Not impressive nor does it seem respectful. I just wanted more than slang expressions and profanity to be his go-to way to express himself. Still the buildup of tension between the light and dark is memorable. Dark will always want to stamp out the light but the light will overcome. What a theme! An ARC of the book was provided by the publisher through NetGalley which I voluntarily chose to read and reviewed. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Featured Video